Employees should be aware of these top ten workplace violations regarding vacation and comp time, overtime, commission, minimum wage, and other worker's rights that are regulated by law.
- Unpaid Compensable Time
You're entitled to compensation for any "extra" hours you work, such as working through your lunch break, even if your employer didn't require you to work the extra time. These are all considered compensable time.
- Unpaid Vacation Time
If the employer provides paid vacation, the time accrued (collected) becomes part of the employee's compensation.
- "Use It or Lose It" Vacation Time
Use-it-or-lose-it policies are illegal in some states.
- Unpaid Commission or Bonus
Whether or not you're entitled to bonuses or commissions is determined by your agreement with your employer and the laws of the state where you work.
- Misclassification of Employees as Exempt Workers
Be aware of your salary level and job duties, as they are the determining factors for your classification.
- Independent Contractor Status
If you are not an independent contractor, make sure your employer isn't classifying you as one.
- Unpaid or Improperly Calculated Overtime Pay
Under the FLSA, overtime pay rules are based on a 40-hour workweek.
- Comp Time Instead of Overtime Pay
Compensatory time, commonly referred to as "comp time," is generally paid time off granted instead of overtime wages.
- False Reporting
Many employers establish rules that overtime work will not be permitted or paid without advance authorization.
- Minimum Wage Violations
As of July 24, 2009, the federal minimum wage for most covered employees is $7.25 per hour.
View this article by About Careers for more details about these top ten workplace violations.
Through the Michigan Chamber’s partnership with WageAccess, you can gain access to valuable Compensation, Benefits, Pay Practices and Incentive Pay information and trends in the State of Michigan, and across the United States. Learn more about discounts offered to Chamber members.