Workplace violence is increasing. In society there are many stresses. Our current work/economic environment is certainly stressful as employers attempt to remain viable.
Employment & Labor Law
The state of Michigan just released an update to the Michigan Law Prohibits Discrimination poster, which must be posted for your employees.
These are the two most recent updates to Michigan labor law. There are 18 total required employment notices that Michigan businesses with at least one employee must post.
When conducting background checks on current employees, especially those who are under consideration for promotion, here are some items to consider:
There are a few categories of workers in this country that requires a background check by law. For the most part, public school employees, healthcare workers, casino employees, and a host of others in certain job categories must have background checks done. That list includes commercial drivers. For the vast majority of workers in the country, however, a background check is done not because it is required by law, but because the employer feels it is a wise policy. That is smart.
True or False: The minimum wage for Michigan employees is $8.90 per hour.
For most employees working in Michigan, it is true that the 2017 minimum wage is $8.90 per hour. However, it is false for some employees:
The new presidential administration is expected to have a significant impact on the employment and labor regulatory and enforcement landscape. While it’s yet unclear exactly what the impact will be, experts in human resources are anticipating a more employer-friendly shift and a change in course from the Obama administration’s priorities.
For many, life was a lot simpler decades ago. Granted, the advancements in technology and medicine didn’t seem to come as quickly as they do now. And we probably all wonder how we ever lived without cell phones. But the slower pace is something people these days probably wouldn’t mind experiencing every now and then.
True or False: Overtime hours must be paid at a rate of at least 1½ times the regular rate of pay. If you said “true” you are correct. However, do you know what the “regular rate of pay” is and how to calculate payment for overtime hours?
The state of Michigan just released a new mandatory notice to Michigan labor law for minimum wage, which must be posted for your employees. The federal government also recently released two mandatory notices that were effective in August.